The Lodge at St. Edward State Park, a national landmark transformed into a new 84-room hotel, along with Daniels Real Estate and Columbia Hospitality, is expected to open this May in Kenmore, Washington. The project will also include three dining and bar outlets — Cedar + Elm restaurant, the Tonsorium Bar, and Father Mulligan’s Heritage Bar (shown) — led by chef Jason Wilson.
The Lodge at St. Edward occupies a landmarked, former seminary building built in 1931, and has been restored after 40 years of sitting vacant. Kevin Daniels of Daniels Real Estate, preservationist and owner of the Lodge, had a vision to reflect the past while inspiring the future. The former dining hall, where seminary students would sit for their daily meals, has been transformed to Cedar + Elm restaurant, an open-format kitchen and lounge with indoor and outdoor seating.
The seminary was designed by Seattle architect John Graham Sr. and completed by John Graham & Company, the firm responsible for many significant landmarks, such as the Space Needle. The building is a blend of Romanesque Revival architecture and Art Deco interiors. This unique combination served as inspiration during the renovation process when new colors, design, and décor were chosen.
Photo: The Lodge at St. Edward