User login


Cooper Hewitt Honors Michael Graves, Commune

(May 2015) posted on Tue May 05, 2015

Among 11 firms/individuals receiving National Design Awards

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has unveiled the winners of the 2015 National Design Awards, which recognize excellence and innovation across a variety of disciplines including architecture and interior design. The recipients for the 16th annual awards program will be honored at a gala dinner Oct. 15 at Pier Sixty in New York.

This year’s award recipients are:
*Famed architect and industrial designer Michael Graves for Lifetime Achievement. Graves, who recently passed away, was lauded by Cooper Hewitt for “broadening the role of architects and raising public interest in good design as essential to the quality of everyday life.”
*Los Angeles-based design studio Commune for Interior Design. Cooper Hewitt said Commune “is noted for its eclectic assemblages that work in harmony with their surroundings, while paying homage to historical, traditional and international design.” The firm’s design of the American Trade Hotel in Panama won a 2014 Gold Key Award for Excellence in Hospitality Design in the best eco- or socially conscious hotel category.
*Textile designer, author and collector Jack Lenor Larsen for Director’s Award
*Community Solutions founder and president Rosanne Haggerty for Design Mind
*New York-based architecture firm MOS Architects for Architecture Design
*Minneapolis-based landscape architecture practice Coen + Partners for Landscape Architecture
*New York-based product designer Stephen Burks for Product Design
*Handmade ceramic tableware and architectural tile company Heath Ceramics for Corporate & Institutional Achievement
*New York City fashion label threeASFOUR for Fashion Design
*New York-based graphic design studio Project Projects for Communication Design
*User-interface designer and computer scientist John Underkoffler for Interaction Design

A jury of designers and educators from across the U.S. reviewed the submissions (nominations submitted by the general public).. Winners were selected based on the level of excellence, innovation and public impact of their body of work. The Director’s Award winner was chosen by Cooper Hewitt director Caroline Baumann and selected based on outstanding support and patronage within the design community.

The jury included:
*Lindsey Adelman, founder and creative director, Lindsey Adelman Studio
*Waris Ahluwalia, designer, House of Waris, and actor
*Amale Andraos, dean, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University
*Maurice Cox, associate dean for community engagement, Tulane University School of Architecture
*Doreen Lorenzo, adviser
*Todd Oldham, designer, Todd Oldham Studio
*Casey Reas, professor, UCLA Design Media Arts
*Margie Ruddick, principal, Margie Ruddick Landscape Planning Design
*Rick Valicenti, founder/design director, Thirst/3st

“With the reopening of the museum this past year, Cooper Hewitt is scaling new heights to educate, inspire and empower our community through design,” says Baumann. “I am thrilled and honored to welcome this year’s class of National Design Award winners, all of whom represent the pinnacle of innovation in their field, with their focus on collaboration, social and environmental responsibility, and the fusion of technology and craftsmanship.”

First launched at the White House in 2000, the National Design Awards were established to promote design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world. The awards are accompanied each year by a variety of public education programs such as events, panel discussions and workshops. First Lady Michelle Obama is serving as the Honorary Patron for this year’s National Design Awards.


Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to the magazine.